Acquiescence & Mystery; Jonah


“Acquiescence & Mystery; Jonah” 48″x48″ Oil on Wood, 12/14

Veronese's Allegory of Love III, Respect.  About 6'x6', National Gallery London

Veronese’s Allegory of Love III, Respect. About 6’x6′, National Gallery London (You can see the liberties I took with this composition, especially when constructing what would become the whale.)

It is quite an endeavor to spend a whole semester on one work of art, but in the Fall of 2014, any moment I had for studio time was poured into Acquiescence and Mystery; Jonah. Continuing on the body of four pieces I am doing riffing off of the allegories of love by Veronese, this painting proved to be an exceptional challenge. From the metallic whale I chose to create, to the several attempts it took to figure out how I wanted to create ribbons of water, I felt the painting kept me on my artistic toes. I learned a variety of things from never save the lead character in a work until the last, to letting a painting simply do what it wants to do no matter what your original objectives were. I was very happy with the results but it took a while to get there.

Here is process shot for the piece.  I used a variety of reference material to get what I needed even referencing a Copley painting I love in the background of the painting.

Here is process shot for the piece. I used a variety of reference material to get what I needed even giving a nod to a Copley painting I love for the background. There are some fun little things that happen in retrospect with these pictures.  For example in the 9th painting ribbon drips appear only to be gone in the 10th, and being so disgusted with them I didn’t attempt them again until the 13th painting.  Creating is always a learning experience.

I created a model of the whale out of clay to help me to figure out perspective and lighting.

I created a model of the whale out of clay to help me to figure out perspective and lighting.

Here is an image of the piece as it was displayed at Willamette University at the Rogers W. Rogers gallery in the Spring.

Here is an image of the piece as it was displayed at Willamette University at the Rogers W. Rogers Gallery in the Spring of 2015.

About abiggerworldyet

Visual Artist Brother Sojourner College Professor Christ follower
This entry was posted in Art in the Works and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

