Oil Painting using Technological Help

I took a quick shot of the painting, inserted it into the Sketchbook Pro program, and then simply painted a version of green I was thinking about painting the background.

I took a quick shot of the painting Releasing while it was in process.  Inserting it into Sketchbook Pro I laid in a version of green I was considering.

I have created works that I’ve shown you here using a program called Sketchbook Pro on an I-Pad.  A studio mate of my buddy Dan in Southern California uses the program to help him figure out color combinations when he is at home and away from the studio.  I decided to put the tool to use doing the same when I recently was trying to figure out what color to paint the background for the work Releasing.

The red you see is actually the original under-painting.  I wanted to make sure I kept it in mind when figuring out what to layer over it.

The red you see is actually the original under-painting. I wanted to make sure I kept it in mind when figuring out what color  to layer over it.

Trying yet another version…

I thought maybe a darker blue, or tennebristic effect could be interesting.

I thought maybe a darker blue, or tennebristic effect could be interesting.

And the final painting:

The final piece Releasing 14"x11" (This is just a quick studio shot of the painting) You can see I chose to go with the lighter blue. I felt it added a "lightness" and breath to the work. This figure should look familiar.  There is an earlier blog post that he is featured in.

The final piece Releasing 14″x11″ oil on wooden panel (A quick studio shot of the painting) You can see I chose to go with the lighter blue. I felt it added a “lightness” and breath to the work. (This figure should look familiar as there is an earlier blog post in which his sculptural version is featured.)

About abiggerworldyet

Visual Artist Brother Sojourner College Professor Christ follower
This entry was posted in Art in the Works and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oil Painting using Technological Help

  1. Tim Hayes says:

    As I scrolled down the page on the screen, I immediately thought the light blue was best choice. Obviously, I was right 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your process, Tim!

Leave a Reply

