Heinz Theis is now in Oregon (well, his painting…)

The two towns of Garmisch and Partenkirchen were joined by Hitler for the winter Olympics, but still each has it’s own special charm.

So last May while in Germany I did something I’ve never done in Europe before: I bought a genuine work of art.  Now granted I’ve bought little things, but this year I wanted to buy a “real” work of art, so I was keeping my eyes peeled.

Our view from our Hotel window, this town just filled me with joy period. Maybe it was the air.

It could be in part I fell in love with the town Garmish-Partenkirchen because we were finally out of Munich (I’m not a big fan of big cities, no matter the country), and although rainy, the town has quite the charm and knocked me head-over-heels.  It was there I stumbled into what happen to be an art auction house called “Merry Old England.” http://www.caselton.de/

In the basement of Merry Old England, I found a painting by Heinz Theis (1894-1966) an artist who lived in Garmish.  Yes, I like Millet and VanGogh, and clearly Heinz did too when he painted this in the 1930’s.  According to the very helpful folks at the auction house paintings like this were very common between the wars:  the working class working in beatific settings .  I couldn’t beat the price, and although it took almost three months to get to me, it’s so good to have a little bit of Germany in my home – I am a quarter German you know, and in part getting the painting felt a little like a way to take ownership of that heritage.

Thank you Heinz for the painting, it’s looks great in a living room in Oregon.

And here’s the painting. Measuring 31″x39″ it wasn’t the easiest to get here. I liked that the alps are the view from Garmisch, where the painting was created. Heinz Theis likely won’t show up in any art history books, but there is something about having a real work of art that has a history. Its like have a nice great grandparent in the house permanently.

About abiggerworldyet

Visual Artist Brother Sojourner College Professor Christ follower
This entry was posted in Artists of Interest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heinz Theis is now in Oregon (well, his painting…)

  1. Kate Gross says:

    Oh my goodness! My oldest daughter and I spent three weeks near Garmisch this summer! She visited the town on two different days, dressed up as Batman, hiding from campers 🙂

  2. Damon wood says:

    I just saved 2 paintings of Heinz Theis and am looking for people interested in placing them in good homes.anyone interested call Damon Wood 909-771-3397

Leave a Reply

