The Last Tornado

I realized as of late that  I neglected to ever post the fourth tornado painting/sculpture I created, that was included in the exhibit back in January at the University of Portland.  So here it is:

"Covenant" oil on wooden panel, reclaimed wood, kiln worked glass, bronze, and toy soldiers, January 2011, 31"x21"x5

For this piece I used the traditional pelican image I have before, but made a three dimensional bronze sculpture of it (for more information about what it means see my post on the blog dated October 26, 2009).  I had originally  finished the bird with a patina that was very blue.  That blue unfortunately  didn’t match the coloring of the sky or anything in the rest of the work, so I stripped it down to the original bronze color, and liked how it looked.

Another tricky element of this piece was bending glass rods in the kiln that would then be connected as a unit to echo the shape of the tornado, as well as figuring out how to attach everything.  I was pretty pleased with the results- hope you are too.

About abiggerworldyet

Visual Artist Brother Sojourner College Professor Christ follower
This entry was posted in Art in the Works and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Last Tornado

  1. Scott says:

    Love this piece. If I had some expendable Gs Ide make a solid offer.

  2. lomagirl says:

    I really like the way the glass brings the tornado out from the painting- wonderful. And the pelican- I didn’t know of that representation of Christ- I’ll look for it now.

Leave a Reply

