A suggestion…

"A Suggestion as to How Many Times to Knock Before you May Possibly Get an Answer," Tim Timmerman, oil on panel/mixed media, 26"x17"x4", 4/10

Here is the other parable (or parable #1 from the earlier post) that is now complete.  This one is based on the friend knocking in the night. Here is the scripture:

Luke 11; 5-10

5Then he said to them, “Suppose one of you has a friend, and he goes to him at midnight and says, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves of bread, 6because a friend of mine on a journey has come to me, and I have nothing to set before him.’

7“Then the one inside answers, ‘Don’t bother me. The door is already locked, and my children are with me in bed. I can’t get up and give you anything.’ 8I tell you, though he will not get up and give him the bread because he is his friend, yet because of the man’s boldness[a] he will get up and give him as much as he needs.

9“So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 10For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

This work was difficult to photograph as it is purposely dark (it’s night you know) and there are small figures and other items purposely hidden behind the grid.  There is a dog, donkey, couple, fruit, St. John and an owl that you can find when you see it in person.  The bottom of the piece has a series of bingo balls with various numbers (the title is a nod to them- try, try, again).

Once again this piece likely will be in a Parable exhibition that will be traveling out and about, and also may show up in the art show down at Bush Barn in May.

Keep on knocking! (-;

About abiggerworldyet

Visual Artist Brother Sojourner College Professor Christ follower
This entry was posted in Art in the Works and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A suggestion…

  1. lomagirl says:

    That really fits. In fact, the earlier picture reminded me of that, except the only thing I could remember- it must be in a nearby verse- was “If your son asks for bread, do you give him a stone? If a fish, a snake?” SO I guessed something else, because I knew that wasn’t right.
    I really enjoy seeing your work here. Thanks for posting it.

  2. Kathy Farmer says:

    oops….got my scriptures mixed up but this was the one I was thinking about. Bingo balls….great….try, try again….love figuring out all the different symbolism…congratulations on another great art piece, Tim!

  3. J.B. Ransom says:

    very captivating piece Tim! at first when you posted just the painting I thought it was the parable of the 10 bridesmaids.

    this is so strange because I was just reading the torah portion for today and this verse from Luke 11:5-8 was apart of it. and the Yeshua goes on to say “ask and it will be given to you, seek and you will find, knock and it will be opened to you” we all gotta keep knockin’. hopefully I’ll get to see this one in person so I can look in all the nooks and crannies.

Leave a Reply

