Hope Too Much

"Hope Too Much" Tim Timmerman, oil on wood/assemblage, 25"x15 1/2"x6".

Here is one of the finished parables (see blog post from March 25th).  From those of you that posted, and those that I spoke with it seems most nailed this one as the parable of the prodigal son.  Good job.

With the current work I am moving the figures out of the painting and am constructing them out of various materials.  I learned the hard way in constructing the figures for this piece how effective sanding bits are on a foredum shaft tool.  It did a great job removing wood, and a bit of my left thumb.  Still bandaged up but I’m on the mend.  More lessons to share as to what NOT to do…

I was pleased with how this turned out.  The figures reminded me a bit of some of the work I saw at the Smithsonian Museum of American Art last fall.  Their folk art section of that museum is full of wonders and delights.

The title of this work actually comes from other notes I had on the same sketchbook page where I had drafted out possible compositions of the work.  I had written down a different more typical title for the piece, but “Hope Too Much” fit like a puzzle piece for the work.

Detail of the figures for "Hope Too Much"

Hope you enjoy the piece, it may be in the show I have up coming at Bush Barn in Salem in May (depending on what else I finish), and possibly may travel with a show CIVA is doing on the parables beginning late summer.

About abiggerworldyet

Visual Artist Brother Sojourner College Professor Christ follower
This entry was posted in Art in the Works and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hope Too Much

  1. lomagirl says:

    Lovely. I like that the figures are in the foreground with us, placing the viewer at the end of the story, not waiting to see what happens. With just the painting it looks like we are standing with the son on that last stretch before home. This is so different.

  2. Jenn P. says:

    This is my favorite yet, Tim. Can’t wait to see it in person.

  3. Wendy C says:

    Tim,
    This piece is amazing. It tells such a story. I love, love, love it. The sacrifice of your thumb was well worth it ;~) I think I may have so save up my pennies so that one day I can buy this one from you!!

  4. Kathy Farmer says:

    Yes! What a wonderful piece, Tim! This was fun guessing the theme. I love this story of redemption and love of the Father. “Hope Too Much” is a great addition.

Leave a Reply

