A sketch from Brugge

Tim Timmerman a sketch from museums in Brugge in May of 09

While in Europe this past May with students I attempted to be very faithful in drawing in museums.  Brugge in Belgium is full of a lot of history and wonderful museums.  This is one of my pages from the time I spent there.

The piece on the left is me working out a possible idea of a work incorporating the Father/Son/Holy spirit image I had found at St. John’s Hospital that is on the right.  It was from a tryptic that I found very moving.  In art history the pieta (or Mary mourning over the dead Christ, like the famous one in Vatican sculpted by Michelangelo) is fairly familiar, but I had never seen an image of God the Father holding his dead son; mournfully gazing at the viewer with steadfast resolve.

The cannon image on the uper right is actually a symbol of an individual I found over the fireplace at the Gruuthuse Museum. I found it was quite a different image to use, rather than an animal of some sort to represent oneself.  I thought it was kind of humorous.   How do you view yourself?  “As a firing cannon!”  Let’s just say I’d want that guy on my team.

The image on the upper left was a silver ring that was pulled to call to attention or order a group called “The Holy Ghost Chamber of Rhetoric.”  I thought this too was quite humorous reflecting on my own experience in faculty meetings at a Christian University.  We need such a ring.

Maybe I like to draw things I find moving or funny.

Actually that could be more true than I’m willing to admit.

About abiggerworldyet

Visual Artist Brother Sojourner College Professor Christ follower
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Sketches and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

