The other end of an art exchange

Here I am working in Dan's studio in Seal Beach. I'm diving in to working on a series of landscapes on wooden panels that will be eventually integrating with figures I have been creating in glass, ceramic, and bronze. You may recall a little glass boat that I created this summer... The piece I'm working on in this image is actually a part of the work that boat was created for.

On August 20th  there is a post about my dear mentor and friend Dan Callis coming to Newberg and working with me for a week or so while I taught him how to work in kiln-worked glass.  This was a little “art exchange” that we planned to do on our sabbaticals this Fall.

I’m now on the other end of that endeavor.  For about a week and a half I am down in Southern California creating art in Dan’s studio and looking at what is currently gracing the walls of the local museums and galleries.

Dan has a wonderful studio he has created that is walking distance to the very livable and friendly downtown Seal Beach.  Sitting in Bogart’s coffee shop right now writing this looking out at the sunny glow of the beach sure beats being in the cold and rain of Newberg during finals week at the University (not that I am rubbing it in to my dear fellow faculty members currently in the throws of grading, and grading, and grading).

I am blessed to have this opportunity to focus upon my art practice.  It’s like coming up for a deep breath of fresh air.  The salty air, sun, expanse of ocean, and time with a lifelong friend are an additional boost indeed.

About abiggerworldyet

Visual Artist Brother Sojourner College Professor Christ follower
This entry was posted in Curious Endeavors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The other end of an art exchange

  1. Lisa says:

    Hey there brother… Looks like you made it through the N.Cal. mountains before the real snow/ice approached. I see the sun in the background of your friends studio…ah! Can’t wait to see it in Phx. next week. I’ll give you a call when I’m in town. Hope you are enjoying your time, friend. Love you much and Merry Christmas. Lisa

  2. rockwell says:

    Very good posting. Can’t wait to read more about this topic.

Leave a Reply

