Sorry, it Was Really Envy,

Dog and Game,  Jean-Baptiste Siméon Chardin French, 1699-1779 Oil on canvas 75-3/4 x 54-3/4 in.

Dog and Game, Jean-Baptiste Siméon Chardin French, 1699-1779 Oil on canvas 75-3/4 x 54-3/4 in.

I have yet another recent ink, watercolor and gouache to share with you.

This one has a funny story; well I think it’s funny in retrospect here….  You may recall my comment in my September 8th post, that I’m completing these works that I had began back in 2005.  In that summer I attended a conference in Los Angeles.  While there I visited the Norton Simon Museum in Pasadena with Doug Campbell a colleague of mine here at Fox.  By the way you can’t miss this museum if you are in L.A! (http://www.nortonsimon.org/)

While there, I sat in front of several paintings and drew some elements from various works; like a dog from the work “Dog And Game” painted in 1730 by the French “Rococo” painter:  Chardin (there is another great dog he painted harassing a parrot in a work  in Louvre; and art history students of mine, remember I call him “Rococo” with reservations, he wasn’t one to paint naked ladies frolicking).

I was in Los Angeles primarily to attend a conference.  One particular lecture got my goat.  Specifically I had a lot of judgments about the speaker.  So while he prattled on I drew more imagery on the work that I had begun with Chardin’s dog.  I wasn’t taking notes from his lecture; I was streaming my mean spirited projections, and even drew a little speaker with a large head looming over him watching and critiquing his every move.

Sorry, It Was Really Envy; Tim Timmerman, ink, watercolor, and gouache, 6 1/2”x8”, summer/05 & 9/09

Sorry, It Was Really Envy; Tim Timmerman, ink, watercolor, and gouache, 6 1/2”x8”, summer/05 & 9/09

Now looking at the work I had to chuckle.  In retrospect I know in reality my judgments were all about me.  I was jealous of the guy really, his status his place in life his looks, he seemed so put together, “the ideal Christian man.”  I met him officially about a year and a half ago and I realized he was just a good ordinary guy trying to live life the best he could too.  What was I thinking?

So to redeem the piece I had begun, I painted a plein air landscape of Klameth Falls over the whole thing (see my first blog entry), and ended up painting in gouache “humbled” little heads, looking sad and apologetic.

So mister speaker – sorry I thought you were a dork.  It was about me.

Tim

About abiggerworldyet

Visual Artist Brother Sojourner College Professor Christ follower
This entry was posted in Art in the Works and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

