Deborah Horrell sharing the wealth.

Deborah Horrell in her studio with some of her work.

Deborah Horrell in her studio with some of her work.

Well, it was an absolute delight taking a workshop on pate de verre this past week in Portland with Deborah Horrell; she is a very talented lady and is very open with her methods, techniques and know how, which as a teacher I really appreciate.  I was telling her that I’m struck that artists with ceramic backgrounds (like she has) tend to be much more forthright and giving in sharing their techniques than many painters who come across very afraid of giving away their methods.  I think in part if an artist is talented enough, the technique is only a small part of what it takes to create their art, their talent is the real lynch pin in their work.  I think as artists we can function with an attitude of abundance with one another or scarcity.   I tend to resonate with the artists who approach life with a “share the wealth” mentality with one another and think the art world would be a better place if more artists shared resources and techniques with one another rather than viewing the art world as a dog-eat-dog world.

Check out the wonderful video OPB did on Deborah at: http://www.opb.org/programs/artbeat/episodes/view/1022

In my quest to work on creating more of the objects that I use in my work and relying less on assemblage or found objects, I’m excited about integrating the methods and techniques that Deborah so graciously taught us this past week.  Keep your eyes peeled.  I now have to do some running around and get some various materials and tools so I can get to work in my studio!  Why is it the idea of buying any new tools makes me very happy?

Here's the finished version of my little boat I was working on in an earlier post.  Keep your eyes peeled for where it shows up in a finished piece!

Here's the finished version of my little boat I was working on in an earlier post. Keep your eyes peeled for where it shows up in a finished piece!

About abiggerworldyet

Visual Artist Brother Sojourner College Professor Christ follower
This entry was posted in Curious Endeavors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deborah Horrell sharing the wealth.

  1. Rick says:

    Nice boat! It looks very different than the bed-pan-like mold that was in your previous post. 🙂 I look forward to seeing more of your pate de verre work.

Leave a Reply

